A worker injured on the job should report this to an employer before or after going to the hospital. Not only is it a good idea to let them know what happened, but it also documents the injury if the employee needs to file for workers’ compensation benefits.
Regardless of who is at fault, the worker can turn to this special insurance to provide coverage for medical bills as well as a portion of the workers’ weekly salary to compensate for missed wages due to the injury or illness. In cases of death, the surviving family members would then receive these benefits to help cover lost income.
How it works
Most employers with three or more full-time or part-time workers are required by law to provide this benefit in cases of injury. Moreover, the workers also pay a portion of their paycheck to this as well. The process begins with completing a Form WC-14 and filing it with the State Board of Workers’ Compensation. The claimant should also send a copy to the employer and their workers’ compensation carrier. Important details include:
- The benefits kick in after more than 7 days away from work.
- The maximum amount of weekly benefits here in Georgia is $575.
- The length of benefits depends on the injury, but they can run as long as 400 weeks.
- This is the only option since Georgia workers cannot pursue a personal injury suit against the employer, although they can file a lawsuit against third parties.
- These benefits are not available if the worker is intoxicated on the job or commits an act of willful misconduct.
Not all cases initially approved
Filling out the paperwork and meeting the deadlines for the claim can be challenging and may lead to an initial denial. Moreover, insurance companies may try to tell workers that they have no case or are slow to pay. An experienced workers’ compensation attorney can often help workers strengthen their case and enable them to get the compensation they deserve.