Your Guiding Hand Through The Legal System

2 things to know about workers’ compensation in Georgia

On Behalf of | Sep 13, 2022 | Workers' Compensation

The vast majority of Georgia employers are required to carry workers’ compensation insurance in the event that an employee is hurt on the job. While workers’ comp is supposed to be a fairly straightforward and “no-fault” system that makes it easy for injured employees to get the medical care they need and some replacement wages, the reality is that nothing is ever really that simple.

The best way you can protect your rights as an employee is to know as much as you can about how the system works. With that in mind, here are a two things every worker needs to know:

You’re covered even on your first day of work

If your boss has three or more employees, they’re required to carry workers’ compensation insurance – and you’re covered under their plan whether it’s your first day at work or your hundredth day there. Even part-time employees are covered.

This is particularly important to keep in mind as we move into the holiday season and more stores start looking for temporary or part-time employees. Don’t let an employer tell you that you haven’t been somewhere “long enough” to qualify for a claim.

You have a maximum of 30 days to report your injury

Ideally, you should report an injury immediately to your employer – but it’s not an ideal world. Quite often, injured workers don’t realize that they’re seriously hurt right away, and that causes a slight delay in reporting.

For example, imagine that you pop your shoulder out of place while lifting a box on a Friday, right before leaving work. You think it’ll be fine, but the pain and swelling get worse over the weekend, not better. You may not be able to report the injury until the following Monday – and that’s okay. You have 30 days to report your injury, and your employer cannot refuse to take your report just because you waited a few days.

Steven Morgan is a local attorney who understands just how disruptive a workplace injury can

be to his clients. He’ll aggressively protect their interests throughout a workers’ compensation claim. Call us today at 912-289-0640 or send us an email for more information.