Losing A Loved One Is Never Easy
Nothing can make up for the loss of a loved one. Unfortunately, the bills don’t stop arriving in the mailbox after you experience a personal tragedy. That’s why obtaining workers’ compensation death benefits is important. This money can help dependents of an employee stay afloat financially while you work on piecing your life back together.
I am attorney Steven L. Morgan of Brunswick, Georgia, and I can guide you through the claims process with empathy and skill. Let me put my decades of legal experience to work for you. I can answer your questions such as:
- After my loved one’s death, how much money will I receive?
The Georgia State Board of Workers’ Compensation says that if an employee dies in a workplace accident or due to a work-related disease, his or her dependents are eligible to receive two-thirds of his or her weekly wage. For instance, if an employee made $450 a week, his or her minor children would likely receive $300 a week in death benefits.
- Are there any limits?
Yes, the maximum amount a dependent can receive is $550 per week. If your spouse died and you have no children, the maximum total you can receive is $220,000.*
- Will workers’ compensation cover the funeral costs?
Yes, benefits include compensation to cover the cost of the funeral and burial.
- Who counts as a dependent?
A dependent can be the deceased worker’s husband, wife, child or stepchild.
- What happens if I remarry?
If your spouse died in a work-related accident and you choose to remarry, you will lose your workers’ compensation benefits. The same is true if you begin living with a boyfriend or girlfriend.
Learn More In A Free Consultation With A Lawyer
If you have questions or concerns about survivor benefits after a death at work, feel free to call the Glynn County law office of Steven L. Morgan, P.C. During a free consultation with me, we can discuss your unique situation. Call me at 912-289-0640 or send me an email today.
*As of July 1, 2015